CONTACT: Pauline Barfield, Barfield Public Relations, (917) 620-1311. Amy Wink, NYSILC, (518) 427-1060.

ALBANY, NY – The New York State Independent Living Council (NYSILC) Disability Rights Hall of Fame selection committee announces its inaugural inductees. The eight inductees to the 2018 NYS Disability Rights Hall of Fame will be honored in a ceremony the evening of Thursday, April 26th, 2018 at the Troy Hilton Garden Inn.

“Our disability community is blessed with considerable talent,” said Brad Williams, Executive Director of the New York State Independent Living Council (NYSILC). “The diverse efforts and accomplishments of the 2018 inductees will establish a benchmark for future years.”

The inaugural inductees are listed below; more information about each inductee can be found here.

Clifton Perez (Rensselaer County)

Marilyn E. Saviola (Kings County)

Douglas J. Usiak (Erie County)

Posthumously awarded: 

Anna Fay (Westchester County)

Patricio (Pat) Figueroa, Jr. (Albany County)

Constance Laymon (Schenectady County)

Terence J. Moakley (Queens County)

Michael Peluso (Albany County)

Information about the event, promotion, sponsorship, and tickets to the Hall of Fame event are available at a Hall of Fame (HOF) webpage: https://www.nysilc.org/hof.

The NYS Disability Rights Hall of Fame is a program of the New York State Independent Living Council, Inc. (NYSILC). NYSILC is an independent, nonprofit state council, looking to promote independent living for people with disabilities across New York State. The council’s primary responsibility is to work with state partners to develop, monitor, and evaluate New York’s three-year Statewide Plan for Independent Living (SPIL).