Please join us in congratulating our third class of inductees!

Robert Gumson
Edith Prentiss
Susan Scheer
Melvyn Tanzman
James Weisman

The NYS Disability Rights Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made lifelong achievements which positively impact people with disabilities in society.

Areas of lifelong achievement include: improving public policy and programs/services, advancing new knowledge and/or concepts, eliminating barriers, and promoting a positive image for people with disabilities.

View the full 2021 Hall of Fame Virtual Ceremony recording here: 

The five individuals above were inducted into the Hall of Fame during our virtual event via Zoom Webinar on Thursday, May 6th, 2021.

Thank you to our Honorary Committee members and our sponsors, all of whom have made a meaningful investment in developing youth leadership programs for people with disabilities.  Thank you to everyone who donated a board game for our NYSILC Board Game baskets.  And thank you to everyone who attended the event to celebrate and honor our third class of inductees!

Congratulations to our raffle basket and gift card winners:

$50 Amazon gift card – Lafayette Williams

$50 Amazon gift card – Phyllis Hecker

Spa Gifts Basket - Keith Gurgui

Godiva chocolate basket - Katheleen Reidy

Movie Night popcorn & snacks basket – Joe Rappaport

Soup’s On gift basket – Chris Rosa

Big wine basket – Ann Scherff & Renae Kimble

Board games basket #1 – Katy Carroll

Board games basket #2 – Aileen Martin

Subscribe to the NYSILC newsletter to be up to date on the latest news related to the Hall of Fame. We will announce here when we open up nominations for 2022.

Proceeds from these events help to sustain the awards ceremony and dinner in the future, and will also support Pat Figueroa Jr. Young Adult Scholarships.

If you have questions, please contact Amy at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 518-427-1060.